Book Review: Hidden Affections, by Delia Parr

Annabelle Tyler is rifle-butted into a marriage with the local rake, Harrison Graymoor, in this Christian Romance quick-read Hidden Affections, by Delia Parr.  Despite its rough beginning, she manages to maintain her faith, and pursue godliness within a farce of a relationship, until reality begins to change.  Although this is not my preferred fiction, Delia Parr (beautiful website, too) has quickly become my favorite author of this genre, with her pleasing blend of light romance, character development, and true Christian faith within a gripping storyline.  I loved Annabelle, with her spunky speech and caring actions, while Harrison slowly won me over, and the gritty housekeeper Irene ‘had me at hello’.  Even minor characters found depth, and the story concludes delightfully.  I was left wanting more of Parr’s fiction, if not more of these characters.  If you have read Janette Oke, or Francine Rivers, (my ultimate contemporary favorites), you will find a favorite here.

I received a beautiful copy I will be keeping for myself, in exchange for this review completed for Bethany House Publishers.  You may join also! click here.

Leave a Reply

