Beginning to count 1,000 gifts

Author Ann Voskamp brings out of her painful memories the light of a chiaroscuro list: photographic prose, evidencing God’s daily touch by the use of a mom’s scuffed list.  Until she reaches the finding of One Thousand Gifts, she challenges herself to find the good, the beauty, the love of a God Who would allow such suffering.  I spontaneously chose her book at the urging of the (In)Courage community’s book club, and could not be more surprised by it’s beauty: now I want to share!

Figuring Life Out – One Thousand Gifts (720) from Jacob Forrest on Vimeo.

I cannot equate my own struggles with hers, but I desire the same active change she did.

And I wonder if her method will transpose into my world, hung by the same Creator.

1.  dancing jacket in winter sunshine
2.  unexpected high-desert snowfall
3.  a kindergartener’s unbidden table-setting for 6
4.  energy for a short run after injury

The simplicity of it grabs me….perhaps you’ll join as well?

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Life is a gift « MaxoffskyMaxoffsky

  2. Pingback: Life is a gift « MaxoffskyMaxoffsky

Leave a Reply

