Book Review: Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room, by Nancy Guthrie


As the temperature drops, I anticipate my favorite season, and wonder how to bring delightful memories to my children.  Most importantly, I desire to encourage in them a love for the Christ-child, and my latest book review is an excellent resource for anyone else doing the same.  Nancy Guthrie writes Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room: Daily Family Devotions for Advent, which offers daily readings, thought-provoking questions, memory verses, a prayer, and (as my favorite inclusion) space to include your family’s comments and discussion topics resulting from her prompts.  Not only could you review what was discussed last week – but potentially keep a discussion alive year after year!  She did surprise me with her inclusion of the story behind several well-known Christmas songs, lyrics and sheet music included, giving me greater appreciation for their beauty, and a well-rounded approach to devotions.  Overall, I rejoiced to find such a clear and simple book for this season.  Nancy has given me a great tool (deceptive in its size: it could easily fit in my purse for our holiday travels) to keep focus on the Christ of Christmas for this year and many more.

I was grateful to have to privilege of reviewing this book for Tyndale Blog Network, of Tyndale House Publishers and received a complimentary advance copy to complete my review: Christmas for me!

Leave a Reply

