Book Review: The One Year Mother Daughter Devo, by Dannah Gresh with Janet Mylin

Upbeat, creative and very, very pink, this girl’s devotional promises entertaining faith-building exercises for the pre-teen and her mother.  While I found some of the material silly, (April 3rd’s Cock-a-doodle-do0 exercise), I suppose the idea is to open up conversation between a mother and daughter.  I reviewed this book in hopes that my sister, and my little niece will enjoy it as a Christmas present, yet I wonder if the scattered activities, scant Scripture portions, and flippant side-bar exercises will frustrate them as they did me.  I did think it ingenious to include appendixes of activities, crafts, and recipes for more in-depth time together, yet that isn’t what I buy a devotional for.  Given that it has taken me many years to accept the pink part of myself, I will give this a middling review in hopes that the creative females out there need this for bonding with their girls, while doubters might accept that God is honored in a variety of mediums.

I am grateful to tell you that Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in return for reviewing it here.

Leave a Reply

