Book review of Outlive Your Life, by Max Lucado

Defying the normal message of usefulness from the common-man’s idol: popular media, this book’s focus is on simple men and women and the extraordinary ways that God uses them, in His Gospel, and continues to use us today if we are willing.  I found myself caught, mesmerized, inspired, and taught, much like I imagine those  “Joe Pot-roasts,” as Lucado describes the Gospel writers.  He bridges the gap between our simple reality and the potential for daily action.   I loved the individual stories – whether of seniors, children, past or present- each skillfully illustrated the overall point and cemented it home.  At the completion of each chapter, a corresponding verse, and prayer, guides personal devotion, or encourages groups of believers.  Lucado means what he says:  the rear of the dust-jacket reads “One hundred percent of the author’s royalties from Outlive Your Life products will benefit children and families through World Vision…”  Nothing like putting your faith into action, Max!  I applaud you, and am grateful for your inspiration for my pot-roast life!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

Leave a Reply

