Book review: The Butterfly Effect, by Andy Andrews

In reviewing The Butterfly Effect, by Andy Andrews, it became clear that gift books are not my preferred media.  While the concept of having your life touch many unexpected avenues is intriguing, the follow-thru was simply not there for me.  I was moved to do a little Google research on the topic, the originator not being the author, but an American mathematician Edward Lorenz, and fictionalized by none other than Ray Bradbury in the 1950’s, and copied by many more writers.

My pragmatic approach to life lends me to a slight bit of cynicism when faced with overwhelming statements like:

“Your life … And what you do with it today …  MATTERS FOREVER.” (last page of book)

While I am completely in awe of God’s plan, unfathomable to mere mortals at most moments, I also recognize that a lot of what I accomplish is due to dogged effort, not life-changing moments.  And while contemplating my daily blend of dishes, laundry, homeschool, work, and keeping my temper, I rather fix my compass on the words of the parallel version of the Bible, The Message, by Eugene Peterson:   Romans 12:1-2 So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.

So my summary review would include the a reminder that gift books are just that: a substitute for giving your time, your attention, or your effort to someone.  Buying this book would be a mediocre substitute at that.

As part of my agreement with Booksneeze, I point out that this review comprises my portion of agreement as trade for a copy of this reviewed book.  Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

Leave a Reply

